Komorní sólisté ČNSO

CNSO Chamber Soloists

Sál Martinů in Liechtenstein Palace,

When it comes to the CNSO chamber soloists, there’s little need for any introduction. You just need to check out the biographies of the whole Czech National Symphony Orchestra as all are logically members of our larger ensemble –where they assume leading, “front row” positions. They have no problem performing a solo concert to an entire auditorium, though this mostly takes the form of solos within symphonic works such as cadences and so on.  Easier you think? Quite the contrary, actually. Such cadences frequently come unexpectedly, especially in modern compositions. In fact this is often where the professionalism of the concert master comes to the fore along with his dexterity, technical skill, and last but not least, capacity to convince everyone that it’s mere child’s play. Whenever six such “leaders” come together and study a composition, rest assured we’re in for a pretty incredible experience.

With its marvellously selected programme, the wonderful concert at a jam-packed Lichtenštejn Palace held as part of last year’s Prague Proms festival didn’t disprove this assertion. Afterwards I though what a shame it was not to have recorded the concert live since we can never have enough such experiences and chamber programmes are few and far between in our production.  For this reason, we have decided to include a performance featuring our chamber soloists once again – naturally with a fresh programme. And to conclude - we’re delighted that the CNSO boasts such well-established industry leaders who offer their support to others; this goes a long way to bolstering the entire orchestra as well as inspiring and spreading a healthy sense of patriotism and belonging with the group, its intentions and programme. It is also the best way for the orchestra to retain and strengthen its position among audiences and the professional public, while remaining a subject of interest for prestigious international productions.


  • Antonín Dvořák
    String Quintet in E-flat major, Op. 97
  • Johannes Brahms
    String Sextet No. 2 in G major, Op. 36


  • Alexej Rosík and Martin Tupý, violins
  • Karel Untermüller and Jiří Žigmund, violas
  • Miloš Jahoda and Štěpánka Kutmanová, cellos