Nordic Brass Ensemble

The Church of St. Simon and St. Jude,

The Nordic Brass Ensemble (NBE) was established in 1993 by leading wind instrumentalists from the best symphony orchestras of Scandinavia. From the outset this remarkable ensemble has focused on developing its own musical ideas. Exploring and combining the diverse properties of the instruments at its disposal allows the group to constantly shape its sound in new and distinctive ways. It offers a rich repertoire of music from the Renaissance to the present day, in exclusive arrangements of most of the works.

The ensemble’s critically acclaimed album European Tour (2016) rests on a foundation of Renaissance and Early Baroque music. The NBE regularly performs throughout Scandinavia and has recently undertaken tours of Germany, Italy, Austria, Spain, and South America.

This time, these professional members of the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra, Oslo Philharmonic, Norwegian National Opera Orchestra, Trondheim Symphony Orchestra, and Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra will bring their art to the Church of Saints Simon and Jude for the Prague Proms; the programme will include compositions from the aforementioned album European Tour.



  • Album European Tour – Suity
  • Mundus et Musica et Totus Concentus, Bartolomé Ramos de Pareja
  • Dit le Bourguygnon, Traditional
  • Danza Alta - sobre „la Spagna“, Francisco de la Torre
  • Hopper Dancz „Routi Bouilli“, Johann Weck
  • Battalia, Cristóbal de Morales
  • Circumdederundt me, Cristóbal de Morales
  • Dolcissima, Carlo Gesualdo
  • Battallia, Adriano Banchieri
  • Suite from Terpsichore, Michael Praetorius
  • The Earl of Oxford’s March, William Byrd
  • Galliard Battalia, Samuel Scheidt
  • Battalia, Heinrich Biber
  • Libertas / Sacre de Roy, Francois-André Philidor
  • Suite, Georg Philip Telemann


  • Nordic Brass Ensemble 
  • Joakim Agnas, Hans Petter Stangnes, Jon Behncke, Jeppe Lindberg Nielsen, trumpets
  • Rune Brodahl, horn
  • Geir Anfinsen, Ole Jørgen Melhus, Audun Breen, Gabriel Boezi Gjerpe, trombones
  • Magnus Bjørgo, tuba
  • Heming Valebjørg, percussion